Swamy, Sidhu, Mary Kom nominated for Rajya Sabha berths

, 8:34 PM IST

New Delhi: Senior BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, Olympics medal-winning boxer Mary Kom, former MP and cricket commentator Navjot Singh Sidhu, journalist Swapan Dasgupta, Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, economist Narendra Jadhav have been nominated by the Prime Minister’s Office for the Rajya Sabha membership.

There are 12 seats of nominated members in Rajya Sabha of which seven are vacant at present.

Other five nominated members by the UPA government include bollywood actress Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, industrialist Anu Agha, lawyer K Parasaran, and senior advocate KTS Tulsi.

The nominated members could augment the NDA’s numbers in the Upper House.

Biennial elections on as many as 54 seats is likely to be held in July this year. (ANI)