Thursday , August 24 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / Telangana to have more than 27 districts after rejig exercise

Telangana to have more than 27 districts after rejig exercise

Hyderabad: Newly formed state of Telangana would soon have more than 27 districts, a nearly three-fold rise from the current 10.

However, the exact number of new districts in Telangana would be known only after final notification is issued for the purpose.

Deputy Chief Minister K Srihari, who briefed media after a meeting of State Cabinet here today, said the total number of districts would be more than 27.

“It (number of districts) can be more than 27,” he said.

“The Collectors and SPs (Superintendent of Police) would be in place as per the number of districts after the final notification is issued,” Srihari said.

The new districts are proposed to come into existence from the Dussehra festival (October 11).

The TRS Government initially proposed to create 17 new districts, but the number may go up in view of the demands from public representatives and other quarters. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has already made it clear the total number of districts would not be more than 31.

Rao has appointed a ‘high-power committee’ headed by TRS MP K Keshava Rao to look into the demands for formation of four new districts at Gadwal, Asifabad, Jangaon and Sircilla. The committee submitted its report to the Chief Minister today, Srihari said.

The Cabinet decided to appoint staff as per the re- organisation of districts, he said.

The Cabinet also decided to issue an ordinance for Telangana District Re-organisation Act by making amendments to the Telangana District Formation Act, 1974.

Among other decisions, the Cabinet decided to set up police commissionerates at Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Siddipet and Ramagundam and appoint a Backward Classes Commission.