24 special courts in Odisha to deal with POCSO cases

Bhubaneswar:The Odisha government on Friday said it would establish 24 Fast Track Special Courts (FTSCs) for disposal of cases of rape and other sexual offences against children in a time-bound manner.

State Law Minister Pratap Jena said as per the Odisha Civil Courts Act 1984, the courts will work under an additional district judge.

The move comes after the Supreme Court directed the Union government to set up special courts in those districts where more than 100 cases of sexual offences against children are pending.

MS Education Academy

These special courts will hear cases related to the Protection of Children from Sexual Offences (POCSO) Act and ensure speedy trial, the minister said.

The courts will come up in Angul, Balasore, Bhadrak, Bargarh, Bolangir, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Berhampur, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Jharsuguda, Bhawanipatna, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khurdha, Jeypore, Baripada, Nabrangpur, Nayagarh, Phulbani, Puri, Rayagada, Sambalpur and Sundargarh districts.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button