B’desh polls: Newly-elected MPs take oath, BNP-led Opposition boycott ceremony

Dhaka: The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)-led Jatiya Oikya Front boycotted the swearing-in ceremony, even as the remaining newly-elected lawmakers, including those from the Awami League, took the oath here on Thursday.

Subhan Bakery - Instagram Commercial

The oath-taking ceremony took place at the Jatiya Sangsad (National Parliament) at around 11 am (local time) on Thursday. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to the newly elected MPs including Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina.

The Awami League that emerged victorious in the recently-held 11th general elections, is scheduled to hold a meeting of its parliamentary committee at 12 pm (local time) that will announce the Leader of the House, who will ultimately form the government, Dhaka Tribune reported.

MS Education Academy

Hasina will chair the parliamentary committee meeting.

The Constitution of Bangladesh states that the president must convene the Parliament within 30 days of the oath-taking ceremony.

The 10th Parliament was convened on January 29, 2014, and will expire on January 28, 2019. The 11th Parliament will officially function after the dissolution of the 10th Parliament, according to the constitution.

The Awami League-led Grand Alliance swept the polls, securing 288 seats out of the 300 seats in the December 30, 2018, elections, while the BNP-led Jatiya Oikya Front suffered a massive rout, winning only seven seats.

However, the BNP decided to not participate in the oath-taking ceremony, alleging that the elections were rigged and demanded fresh elections. The Bangladesh Election Commission rejected the party’s claims, maintaining that the voting process was held in a free and transparent manner.


Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button