J&K State to Union Territory: What it means?

New Delhi: The government proposed to reorganize Jammu and Kashmir by bifurcating the State into two separate Union Territories of Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir.

Union Territory (UT) of Jammu and Kashmir will have legislature whereas, Ladakh will be UT without legislature.

Union Territory with legislature

Soon, Jammu and Kashmir is going to join the list of UTs which has legislature. Currently, the UTs, Puducherry and Delhi have legislatures.

These UTs have an elected Chief Minister, Council of Ministers and  Lieutenant Governor (LG).

In such UTs, LG acts on the aid and advise of the Council of Ministers headed by Chief Minister.

Such UTs can be considered as partial State.

Union Territory without legislature

In India, there are five such UTs. They are Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and Andaman and the Nicobar Islands.

In these UTs, LGs/ Administrators run the administration with the help of a team of advisors. LGs/Administrators are appointed by the Union Government. There will be no elected CM or Council of Ministers in these UTs.

Soon, Laddak will join the list of these UTs.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button