‘Naam Wapsi’: Now Agra to become Agravan

AGRA: After change in the names of Allahabad, Faizabad and the historic  Mughal Sarai, the Uttar Pradesh government led by CM Yogi Adityanath is planning to change the name of Agra district.

For this purpose, the Adityanath’s government has sought expert advice from Dr Bhim Rao Ambedkar University.

Letter to Ambedkar Varsity

Professor Sugam Anand of the Department of History at Ambedkar Varsity confirmed that a letter was received to probe the historical facts related to name. He, however, distanced himself  from the name change speculation.

MS Education Academy

“We have received a letter from the state government to look for historical evidence if Agra city was known by any other name. We have begun the research and will reply to the letter,” Prof. Anand was quoted as saying to Hindustan Times.

After receiving a letter from the UP government, the Department of History at Ambedkar Varsity is brainstorming under which circumstances Agravan was named as Agra.

‘Naam Wapsi’

Noteworthy, Agra is not the first whose name will been changed.

In recent times, ruling BJP government changed the names of cities, streets and railway stations.

In August, the iconic Mughalsarai junction near Varanasi was rechristened to Deen Dayal Upadhyaya (DDU) station. 

Allahabad was officially renamed Prayagraj and Faizabad as Ayodhya.

In 2015, Aurangzeb Road in Delhi was renamed A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Road.

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News
Back to top button