San Francisco: WhatsApp recently rolled out its most anticipated feature ‘Delete for Everyone‘ that allows its over one billion users revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.
Using this feature, you can only “unsend” for up to seven minutes after sending.
However, this deleted message can be read from notification log of the device.
According to the report published in NDTV, Spanish Android blog Android Jefe has claimed that the WhatsApp messages can be read from notification log of the device even after sender deletes it.
It is also reported that these messages are stored in notification register of the Android system.
As per the information provided on the blog, deleted WhatsApp messages can be accessed using a third-party app named Notification History. After downloading the app, search message in Android notification log which can be accessed from settings.
It may be noted that this technique will work only if the message has generated a notification on the device and it was seen. Even if you see a part of the original message when swiping away, it can be retrieved.
Another disadvantage is that these messages cannot be accessed once the device is restarted. This technique only works for messages.