AAP wins 134 seats in MCD polls, dethrones BJP

Delhi had witnessed highly charged campaigning by AAP and BJP which made top leaders hit the streets for door-to-door campaigning

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday won the MCD polls with 134 seats, ending the 15-year rule of the BJP in the prestigious municipal corporation and reducing the Congress to just nine seats in a house of 250.

In his first address after the victory, an elated Arvind Kejriwal vowed to improve civic amenities in the national capital, and sought the “blessings” of the Centre and Prime Minister Narendra Modi to achieve that.

The BJP, which was predicted to suffer a massive defeat in exit polls, put up a spirited fight, winning 104 municipal wards, while the Congress managed to win just nine, down from 30 in the previous civic poll. Three independents also emerged victorious.

MS Education Academy

In his address to party workers at the AAP office, the chief minister said the civic body will be rid of “corruption and bribery”.

His deputy Manish Sisodia also thanked the voters of Delhi and said it was their mandate that helped the AAP defeat the “world’s biggest and most negative party”.

The counting of votes began at 8 am at 42 centres across Delhi amid tight security, and initial trends was in favour of the BJP. At one point, the BJP was leading in 107 seats and the Aam Aadmi Party in 95.

But as the counting progressed, the AAP went past the BJP and slowly consolidated the lead, finally winning 134 wards.

The BJP bagged 104 seats, thus not losing as badly as was predicted by the exit polls.

Independent candidate Shakeela Begum has won the Seelampur seat in northeast Delhi.

AAP Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh said the barely 10-year-old party has “defeated” the largest party of the country (BJP) in their stronghold. “The results have once again proved the AAP is a hardcore honest party.”

Singh also said the results were remarkable considering the BJP had gone all guns blazing, deploying all its top leaders, including 17 central ministers, for campaigning.

Delhi BJP president Adesh Gupta said, “Despite 15 years of anti-incumbency, our performance is better. We worked for the people of Delhi at the municipal corporations but may be some people were not happy. There was no anger against the BJP though.”

The mood at the AAP’s office on Rouse Avenue was celebratory since morning with patriotic songs blaring through loudspeakers and the entire premises decked up with colourful balloons.

As the pendulum swung in the AAP’s favour, celebrations picked up with supporters carrying party flags distributing sweets and dancing to the beat of drums.

Supporters and leaders, including Gopal Rai, Atishi and Durgesh Pathak, started gathering at the office as counting progressed and numbers swung in favour of the AAP.

Hoardings reading ‘acche honge 5 saal, MCD mein bhi Kejriwal (next five years will be good as Kejriwal has come in the MCD)’ lined the street outside as supporters revelled to the AAP’s official poll song ‘MCD mein Arvind Kejriwal’.

Addressing AAP workers at the party office, Kejriwal batted for positive politics in the country to ensure India becomes number one country in the world.

“We all have to improve the condition of Delhi and I need cooperation of all, including the BJP and Congress. We need cooperation of all, especially the help and blessings of the Centre and the prime minister to do so,” he said.

With defeat in the MCD polls, the BJP’s 15-year rule at the civic body came to an end. The defeat will also dent the BJP’s efforts to weaken the AAP’s political dominance in Delhi, and harm its chances in the 2025 assembly polls.

The party ruled Delhi for 15 years under the chief ministership of Sheila Dikshit, but ceded its space to AAP after 2013. The party failed to win a single seat in Delhi in two Lok Sabha polls and as many Assembly elections between 2014 and 2020.

The BJP trounced both the AAP and the Congress by winning 181 of 272 wards of the three municipal corporations in the 2017 elections. The AAP in its civic polls debut won 48 and the Congress 30 wards.

Earlier this year, the Centre merged the three municipal corporations into MCD having a total 250 wards.

(With inputs from PTI).

Live updates:

3:00 pmAfter the end of the counting, AAP won 134 seats, and BJP bagged 104 seats. Congress won nine seats.
2:00 pmAAP crossed the majority mark whereas BJP won 103 seats so far
1:50 pmAAP inches closer to majority mark as it won 123 seats so far.
12:30 pmAfter counting of 90 percent of votes, AAP won 92 seats and BJP bagged 73
12:15 pmAAP won 64 wards, BJP 50, Congress grabbed 4
11:56 am15 years of BJP rule in MCD is likely to come to an end as AAP leads in 136 wards and BJP in 100.
11:30 amAAP leads in 130 wards whereas BJP in 106.
10:50 amAAP takes lead over BJP as the Kejriwal-led party leads in 123 wards whereas the saffron party in 99.
10:30 amBJP won five seats
10:00 amTug of war continues between BJP and AAP. BJP leads in 109 wards, AAP in 105.
9:40 amBJP leads in 103 wards, AAP in 90.
9:00 amAs per early trends, BJP is leading in 99, AAP in 58.
8:00 amThe counting of votes for 250 wards begins

Arrangements for counting

For the counting, the Commission has set up 42 counting centres across the city. 68 Election Observers have already been deployed by the Commission under whose supervision the counting of votes shall be carried out by the Returning Officers in the presence of candidates or their representatives.

Further, the Commission has also deployed 136 engineers from Electronics Corporation of India Limited (ECIL) at these counting centres to attend to any technical issues regarding the EVMs which may arise during the counting of votes.

Special Media Rooms to facilitate viewing of live results on the Commission’s web portal on the LED screens at these 42 counting centres.

These centres are under multi-layered security and entry of persons authorized by the Commission shall only be allowed by the security personnel deployed at these centres.

Though mobile phone use has been allowed inside these centres, the same is restricted to the designated areas only as per instructions of RO/SEC.

A Media Centre has also been set up at SEC (HQ) at Nigam Bhawan, Kashmere Gate for the Media personnel to view live results of the elections starting from 8 am onwards.


Delhi had witnessed highly charged campaigning by AAP and BJP which made top leaders, including Union ministers, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states and MPs hit the streets for door-to-door campaigning and meetings to garner public support.

The BJP, which has governed the civic body in Delhi since 2007, is looking to maintain its winning streak.

However, the exit polls, which came a day after the polling for MCD elections, predicted that AAP led by Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will now also rule the municipal corporation of the national capital for the first time.

The polls predicted that BJP, which has won three successive civic elections in the national capital, will be ousted from power in the first election since the re-unification of the municipal corporations.

The exit polls also predicted a poor performance by Congress and indicated that the party has failed to revive itself in the national capital.

This was the first civic election after the fresh delimitation exercise. There were 272 wards in Delhi and three corporations – NDMC, SDMC, and EDMC in Delhi from 2012-2022 that later reunified into an MCD that had formally come into existence on May 22.

With inputs from ANI

Back to top button