Maharashtra: Sanjay Raut blames EC after BJP bags 3 of 6 RS seats

Congress leader Imran Pratapgarhi declared his victory

Mumbai: Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut on Saturday cleared his stance on the Election Commission’s move on the rejection of vote cast by Shiv Sena MLA Suhas Kande and alleged that the EC favoured BJP.

“Election Commission made our one vote invalid. We objected to two votes but no action was taken on that. Election Commission favoured them (BJP),” Raut told mediapersons.

While Congress leader Imran Pratapgarhi declared his victory and also confirmed the tally for the remaining candidates.

MS Education Academy

“I have won as well as Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut and NCP’s Praful Patel. I thank the MLAs. We are sad that the fourth candidate of (Maha Vikas Aghadi) Sanjay Pawar could not win,” said Pratapgarhi

The counting of votes came to a small halt after the election authorities recieved complaints and counter complaints in Maharashtra and Haryana.

Poll code violation

Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday alleged a violation of the poll code by three MLAs of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in the Rajya Sabha elections in Maharashtra and urged the Returning Officer to hold their votes invalid.

The BJP demanded that the votes of NCP leader Jitendra Awhad, Congress leader Yashomati Thakur and Shiv Sena’s Suhas Kande be declared invalid.

Out of 6 seats in Maharashtra, BJP won 3 seats. Shiv Sena, Congress, and NCP won one seat each. Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Pawar lost the election.

RS poll results

Elections were held for six vacancies, with seven candidates were in fray, including three from BJP, two from Shiv Sena, and one each from Nationalist Congress Party and the Congress.

All the BJP candidates — Piyush Goyal, Anil Bonde and Dhananjay Mahadik have won the Rajya Sabha elections.

The victors from the MVA are — Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena), Praful Patel (NCP) and Imran Pratapgarhi (Congress).

In a huge upset, Sena’s second candidate Sanjay Pawar lost the polls, stunning the MVA, in the results that were declared around 4 a.m.

With inputs from IANS/ANI

Subscribe us on The Siasat Daily - Google News

Asian News International

Asian News International. Multi-media news agency, content for information platforms: TV, Internet, broadband, newspapers, mobiles.
Back to top button